I love to read. Most of the time I read frivolous chicklit to unwind, destress and just enjoy myself. My interest in books and reading started when I was a young girl as my mum and all her 5 sisters are avid readers and they used to trade books everytime they got together.

I’m not a big fan of self-help books or non-fiction titles simply because they’re always so practical and too serious and there’s so much of that in my daily life already and I don’t need to read about that please… haha.. But once in awhile, you chance upon a really gd book that you just need to get and read it quick and then share with all your friends. 🙂

For those of you who’ve read Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers, you’d be familiar with this rule. Malcolm Gladwell is of course the brilliant mind and author of The Tipping Point, The Dog and Blink. He also writes for the esteemed publication, The New Yorker.

Head to your nearest bookstore today!

Visit his site at http://www.gladwell.com/index.html

The 10,000 rule claims that the key to success in any field is by practising the specific task for about 10,000 hours. In the book, it is mentioned that several experts and masters of their various industries all accumulated a total of about 10,000 hours of practice before they truly became world class. He examined personalities such as Bill Gates, the Canadian Ice Hockey players, successful lawyers in NYC, pilots and even Mozart!

Hence, Gladwell concluded that contrary to popular belief that to be successful you have to be extremely smart and ambitious, hard work is actually the most important element. There is no shortcut to success. This is especially motivating and inspirational to most of us as I believe that 99% of us are not born ultra smart; whereas working hard is something that all of us can do. To be a world-class singer, dancer, software engineer, architect, public relations consultant, broadcaster, all we need to do is start clocking our hours!

Malcolm Gladwell

An intelligent man shared with us that if we practise our specific task for 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, we’d need approximately 10 years to achieve 10,000 hours. Now, it may seem daunting to you! but if you practise for more hours a day or for more days a week, naturally u won’t need to take 10 years.

Outliers also talks about how culture, family, environment and other external factors besides the individual make a difference between success and failure. I’m not gonna spoil it for you so do read the book to gain a new perspective that I feel is really useful in life, especially for those of us trying to climb the corporate ladder. Starting out is always the most difficult but if you hang in there, you’ll get there someday.

I’m gonna start clocking my hours from today onwards, to be everything that I want and can be. You should too! Give me 10 years or more! Haha.

xoxo,
gi

